Blog Archives

Coalition sues Va. water board over Atlantic Coast Pipeline

Richmond, VA –A coalition of community and conservation groups, including Appalachian Voices, late yesterday filed a legal challenge in federal court of the Virginia State Water Control Board’s approval in December of a water quality certification for the proposed Atlantic

TAGS:

Despite vigorous opposition, Virginia water board approves conditional permit for Atlantic Coast Pipeline

CONTACT: Cat McCue, Director of Communications, 434-293-6373, cat@appvoices.org Peter Anderson, Virginia Program Manager, 434-293-6373, peter@appvoices.org The Virginia State Water Control Board today approved a heavily amended certification for the proposed fracked-gas Atlantic Coast Pipeline that is conditional on getting outstanding

TAGS:

Groups challenge Virginia’s unlawful approval of fracked-gas Mountain Valley Pipeline

Contact: Ben Luckett, 859.552.6979, bluckett@appalmad.org Derek Teaney, 304.793.9007, dteaney@appalmad.org Peter Anderson, 434-293-6373, peter@appvoices.org Doug Jackson, 202.495.3045 or doug.jackson@sierraclub.org Mike Tidwell, 240-460-5838, mtidwell@chesapeakeclimate.org RICHMOND, VA — A coalition of environmental groups today filed a petition for review with the United States

TAGS:

Federal review of Atlantic Coast Pipeline fails people and the environment

Contacts: Lewis Freeman, Allegheny-Blue Ridge Alliance, 703-298-8107, lewfreeman@gmail.com Greg Buppert, Southern Environmental Law Center, 434-977-4090, gbuppert@selcva.org Ben Luckett, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 404-645-0125, bluckett@appalmad.org Peter Anderson, Appalachian Voices, 434-293-6373, peter@appvoices.org An analysis of environmental impacts for the proposed Atlantic Coast Pipeline

TAGS:

Community and conservation groups condemn FERC’s review of proposed Mountain Valley Pipeline

Contact: Joe Lovett, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 304-520-2324, jlovett@appalmad.org Laurie Ardison, Protect Our Water, Heritage, Rights, 304-646-8339, ikeandash@yahoo.com Kirk Bowers, Sierra Club Virginia Chapter, 434-296-8673, kirk.bowers@sierraclub.org Kelly Trout, Chesapeake Climate Action Network, 240-396-2022, kelly@chesapeakeclimate.org Lara Mack, Appalachian Voices, 434-293-6373, lara@appvoices.org WASHINGTON,

TAGS:

Atlantic Coast Pipeline backers head to North Carolina

While North Carolina is rightfully focused on the coal ash scandal, another environmental tug-of-war is strengthening in some of the state’s poorest areas. The Atlantic Coast Pipeline would cut 170 miles through eastern N.C. where a quarter to a third of people live in poverty. And this is precisely why these types of projects are placed in low-income communities: to reduce the chance of resistance.

TAGS:

Virginians challenge Gov. McAuliffe on energy policy, climate

Grassroots Alliance Calls for a ‘March on the Mansion’ in July to Demand Clean Power Contact: Kelly Trout, Chesapeake Climate Action Network, 240-396-2022, kelly@chesapeakeclimate.org Amanda Pohl, Virginia Organizing, 804-337-1912, amanda@virginia-organizing.org Cat McCue, Appalachian Voices, 434-293-6373, cat@appvoices.org RICHMOND, Va. – An

TAGS:

Re-route of fracked gas pipeline threatens new areas of Va., West Va.

Contact: Ben Luckett, Staff Attorney, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 304-645-0125 Hannah Wiegard, Appalachian Voices, hannah@appvoices.org, 804-536-5598 Drew Gallagher, Chesapeake Climate Action Network, drew@chesapeakeclimate.org Kirk Bowers, Virginia Chapter of the Sierra Club, kirk.bowers@sierraclub.org Dominion Energy announced plans today to re-route the proposed

TAGS:

    Subscribe to Press Releases

    Sign up to receive real-time email notifications