Blog Archives

House vote gives Senate an opportunity to spur clean energy investments in Appalachia

CONTACT: Molly Moore, Appalachian Voices Communications, (847) 401-3633, molly@appvoices.org Dana Kuhnline, Legislative Coordinator, (304) 825-3262, dana@appvoices.org Today, the U.S. House of Representatives passed the Build Back Better Act, a bill that, if passed by the U.S. Senate, will deliver significant

TAGS:

Groups file complaint that Duke Energy rigged net metering process to push plan to undermine rooftop solar power in NC

A solar installation photo by NREL

CONTACT: Rory McIlmoil, 423-433-9415, rory@appvoices.org Jim Warren, 919-416-5077, jim@ncwarn.org Durham, NC – Two clean energy groups today filed a complaint with state regulators about a stakeholder process they say was rigged to favor a Duke Energy scheme that would harm

TAGS:

Build Back Better Framework contains key provisions to spur clean energy investments in Appalachia

CONTACT: Tom Cormons, Appalachian Voices Executive Director, tom@appvoices.org, (434) 981-6506 Jamie Goodman, Digital Communications Specialist, comms@appvoices.org, (828) 719-9493 The newly unveiled Build Back Better Framework presents a historic investment in rural America, in working families, and in ensuring a just,

TAGS:

Launch of Appalachian Solar Finance Fund will spur solar in coal-impacted communities

CONTACT: Autumn Long, Appalachian Solar Finance Fund Project Manager autumn.long@appvoices.org, 304-841-3539 The Appalachian Solar Finance Fund (SFF), a new program to jump-start commercial and institutional solar projects in coal-impacted communities throughout Central Appalachia, will launch on Thursday, November 4 with

TAGS:

The Sun is Shining on Southwest Virginia’s Growing Solar Industry

Learn about several exciting updates on the bright future for Southwest Virginia’s growing solar energy industry, broken down into four categories: 1) residential solar, 2) commercial solar, 3) utility solar and 4) shared solar!

TAGS:

Appalachian Voices receives $1.5M from Appalachian Regional Commission’s POWER Initiative

CONTACT: Autumn Long, Appalachian Solar Finance Fund Project Manager autumn.long@appvoices.org, 304-841-3539 Adam Wells, Regional Director of Community and Economic Development adam@appvoices.org, 804 240 4372 Molly Moore, Appalachian Voices Editorial Communications Coordinator molly@appvoices.org, 847-401-3633 The Appalachian Solar Finance Fund (SFF) is

TAGS:

Highlights from the Energy Democracy in Action webinar series

Advocates from across the country shared stories of how they gained control over how and where their power is produced during the first two webinars of the three-part Energy Democracy In Action series. Read the highlights and register for the third webinar.

TAGS:

Southwest Virginians Share Solar Experiences

Two people and one organization based in Southwest Virginia tell their solar stories.

TAGS:

Solar advocates score victory for schools, localities in APCO territory

solar panels in Wise County, Va.

CONTACT: Chelsea Barnes, Legislative Director, chelsea@appvoices.org, 276-207-9636 Norton, VA – Local government officials and Appalachian Power Co. announced today that schools and localities in the utility’s territory will be permitted to use net metering and solar financing programs consistent with

TAGS:

National coalition urges Congress to boost support for communities transitioning from fossil fuels

CONTACT: Jeremy Richardson, Union of Concerned Scientists, jrichardson@ucsusa.org, 301-442-1326 Cat McCue, Appalachian Voices, cat@appvoices.org, 434-293-6373 Washington, DC – As America continues to transition toward clean energy, Congress must take swift and comprehensive action to support the workers and communities —

TAGS:

Facebook Twitter Instagram Flickr Youtube