Blog Archives

Snorkeler Casper Cox Explores Appalachia’s Diverse Freshwater Life

A gray and green fish carries a stone in its moth, surrounded by smaller red fish

Snorkeling Appalachia’s rivers and creeks puts adventurers face-to-face with a diverse and colorful array of fish.

TAGS:

Charting paths forward for coal communities

For communities that depended on coal, the pandemic is exacerbating an already-urgent set of interlocking problems. Two regional coalitions have released plans to chart a brighter future for communities hit hardest by the changing coal economy.

TAGS:

Coalition makes catalytic investment in Appalachian coal mine reuse projects

CONTACT: Chelsea Barnes, New Economy Program Manager chelsea@appvoices.org 276-679-1691 Norton, Va. – Furthering its commitment to innovative mine reclamation projects throughout the Appalachian region, the Reclaiming Appalachia Coalition (RAC) announced its investment in five projects in Kentucky, Pennsylvania, and Alabama

TAGS:

It’s the Senate’s turn to pass the RECLAIM Act

Advocates for mine cleanup and economic development in Appalachia are calling on the U.S. Senate to pass the RECLAIM Act and AML Reauthorization after the two bills passed the U.S. House in early July.

TAGS:

Coal community leaders release historic platform for national economic transition

Built on community-driven solutions by local, tribal and labor leaders, NET Platform pushes for bold investments in national transition program for those hit hardest by changing coal economy CONTACT: Trey Pollard, Just Transition Fund tpollard@justtransitionfund.org 202-904-9187 Cat McCue, Appalachian Voices

TAGS:

Coal miners call on Congress for support amidst dual threats from black lung and COVID-19

complicated black lung disease

CONTACT: Rebecca Shelton, Appalachian Citizens’ Law Center, rshelton@aclc.org Willie Dodson, Appalachian Voices, willie@appvoices.org (NOTE: Several miners and their family members are available for interviews; images are also available; please contact Rebecca or Willie.) The president of the Black Lung Association

TAGS:

Advocates call on Congress for urgent action to help coal communities

abandoned mine portal

CONTACT: Thom Kay, Senior Legislative Representative, thom.kay@appvoices.org Cat McCue, Senior Communications Strategist, cat@appvoices.org Washington, D.C. – More than 100 organizations have added their names to a sign-on letter urging leaders in the House of Representatives to prioritize several bills that

TAGS:

Economic coalition identifies 19 old coal sites for cleanup and redevelopment in Central Appalachia

CONTACTS: Adam Wells, Appalachian Voices, adam@appvoices.org, 276-679-1691 Joey James, Downstream Strategies, jjames@downstreamstrategies.com, 304-322-4590 Rebecca Shelton, Appalachian Citizens’ Law Center, rshelton@aclc.org , 865-202-8688 Jacob Hannah, Coalfield Development, jhannah@coalfield-development.org, 304-614-8035 Marissa R. Lautzenheiser, Rural Action, marissa@ruralaction.org, 330-859-1050 New website launched as resource

TAGS:

A decision point for abandoned coal mines

An accurate inventory of abandoned coal mine lands is imperative for understanding the scope of the problem, where funding needs to be directed, and how much funding is necessary.

TAGS:

Over 100 Miners Heading to Washington to Advocate for Black Lung Benefits

Over 100 miners from across the Appalachian region are traveling to Washington D.C. this week to lobby lawmakers on a number of issues related to black lung disease, a fatal respiratory condition caused by continuous exposure to harmful dust and rock particles in and around coal mines.

TAGS: