Blog Archives

Coalition makes catalytic investment in Appalachian coal mine reuse projects

CONTACT: Chelsea Barnes, New Economy Program Manager chelsea@appvoices.org 276-679-1691 Norton, Va. – Furthering its commitment to innovative mine reclamation projects throughout the Appalachian region, the Reclaiming Appalachia Coalition (RAC) announced its investment in five projects in Kentucky, Pennsylvania, and Alabama

TAGS:

It’s the Senate’s turn to pass the RECLAIM Act

Advocates for mine cleanup and economic development in Appalachia are calling on the U.S. Senate to pass the RECLAIM Act and AML Reauthorization after the two bills passed the U.S. House in early July.

TAGS:

RECLAIM Act passes the House as part of larger bill

CONTACT: Dana Kuhnline, RECLAIM Campaign Coordinator 304-825-3262 dana@appvoices.org Cat McCue, Sr. Communications and Public Engagement Strategist 434-293-6373 cat@appvoices.org The U.S. House of Representatives today passed the RECLAIM Act (HR 2156) as part of The Moving Forward Act (HR 2), a

TAGS:

Advocates call on Congress for urgent action to help coal communities

abandoned mine portal

CONTACT: Thom Kay, Senior Legislative Representative, thom.kay@appvoices.org Cat McCue, Senior Communications Strategist, cat@appvoices.org Washington, D.C. – More than 100 organizations have added their names to a sign-on letter urging leaders in the House of Representatives to prioritize several bills that

TAGS:

Virginia coalfield localities call for renewed federal funding for mine cleanup

abandoned mine portal

CONTACT: Thom Kay, Senior Legislative Representative, thom.kay@appvoices.org, 864-580-1843 Cat McCue, Senior Communications Strategist, cat@appvoices.org, 434-293-6373 Norton, Va. — Seven local governments in Southwest Virginia have passed resolutions calling on the state’s congressional delegation to support federal legislation that would reauthorize

TAGS:

Appalachian Towns Show Support for Abandoned Mine Cleanup

Several communities have passed resolutions in support of congressional reauthorization of the Abandoned Mine Land program, and more are expected to consider the proposal.

TAGS:

Working to Save the Abandoned Mine Land Program

Congress must reauthorize the vital Abandoned Mine Land program before it expires in 2021 – and Appalachian Voices along with our partners is putting forth every effort to make sure that happens.

TAGS:

19 old coal sites identified for innovative development projects

Appalachian communities are exploring ways to attract new businesses, pull families out of poverty and strengthen skilled workforces. A primary focus is to redevelop old, unused coal sites.

TAGS:

Economic coalition identifies 19 old coal sites for cleanup and redevelopment in Central Appalachia

CONTACTS: Adam Wells, Appalachian Voices, adam@appvoices.org, 276-679-1691 Joey James, Downstream Strategies, jjames@downstreamstrategies.com, 304-322-4590 Rebecca Shelton, Appalachian Citizens’ Law Center, rshelton@aclc.org , 865-202-8688 Jacob Hannah, Coalfield Development, jhannah@coalfield-development.org, 304-614-8035 Marissa R. Lautzenheiser, Rural Action, marissa@ruralaction.org, 330-859-1050 New website launched as resource

TAGS:

The Unresolved Problem of Abandoned Mine Lands

map

The cost of reclaiming abandoned mine lands is massive, but the fee that funds cleanup is set to expire in 2021 unless Congress extends it.

TAGS: