Blog Archives

Groups challenge Virginia’s unlawful approval of fracked-gas Mountain Valley Pipeline

Contact: Ben Luckett, 859.552.6979, bluckett@appalmad.org Derek Teaney, 304.793.9007, dteaney@appalmad.org Peter Anderson, 434-293-6373, peter@appvoices.org Doug Jackson, 202.495.3045 or doug.jackson@sierraclub.org Mike Tidwell, 240-460-5838, mtidwell@chesapeakeclimate.org RICHMOND, VA — A coalition of environmental groups today filed a petition for review with the United States

TAGS:

Virginia Water Control Board ignores citizen concerns, expert comments and approves controversial Mountain Valley Pipeline

marchers

CONTACT: Cat McCue, Appalachian Voices, 434-953-8672, cat@appvoices.org Roberta Bondurant, Protect Our Water, Heritage, Rights, 540-793-4769, bondurantlaw@aol.com Today, the State Water Control Board approved the permit for the proposed fracked-gas Mountain Valley Pipeline that would run 300 miles from West Virginia

TAGS:

Defending community rights to clean water enforcement

After four years of effort, a favorable ruling in Virginia this month confirmed the rights of citizens to participate in coal mine inspections.

TAGS:

Trump Administration Delays Water Safety Rule

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency announced in September that it would postpone portions of a 2015 rule that established limits on wastewater pollution from coal-fired power plants.

TAGS:

Duke Energy coal ash pollution in Dan River Basin prompts citizens’ step toward Federal Court

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – On behalf of Appalachian Voices, the North Carolina Conference of NAACP Branches, and the Stokes County Branch of the NAACP, the Southern Environmental Law Center today sent a notice of intent to sue Duke Energy to

TAGS:

Va. health advocates hold coal company accountable for water pollution

Contact: Matt Hepler, 276-679-1691, matt.hepler@appvoices.org Brian Willis, 202-675-2386, Brian.Willis@sierraclub.org Isak Howell, 540-998-7744, ihowell@appalmad.org WISE, Virginia – The U.S. District Court for the Western District of Virginia has ruled in favor of the Southern Appalachian Mountain Stewards and Sierra Club on

TAGS:

Massive mountaintop removal mine threatens Clearfork Valley

The Clearfork Valley of Tennessee has been intensely surface-mined going back decades. Now, Kopper Glo Mining is moving forward with a nearly 1,500-acre mountaintop removal mine on nearby Cooper Ridge.

TAGS:

White House halts review of mountaintop removal health impacts

The U.S. Department of the Interior ordered the National Academy of Sciences to halt its review of the links between mountaintop removal coal mining and human health impacts.

TAGS:

The fight against the Atlantic Coast Pipeline is not over

As expected, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission recently gave a glowing review to the Atlantic Coast Pipeline, overlooking the threats to wetlands, forest, drinking waters and indigenous populations along the pipeline’s proposed route.

TAGS:

Agricultural Runoff Defiles Shenandoah River

A recent report documented numerous instances of agricultural runoff polluting the Shenandoah River with the E. Coli bacteria.

TAGS: