Blog Archives

Coal community leaders release historic platform for national economic transition

Built on Community-Driven Solutions by Local, Tribal, and Labor Leaders, NET Platform Pushes For Bold Investments in National Transition Program For Those Hit Hardest by Changing Coal Economy CONTACT: Trey Pollard, Just Transition Fund tpollard@justtransitionfund.org 202-904-9187 Cat McCue, Appalachian Voices

TAGS:

Coal miners call on Congress for support amidst dual threats from black lung and COVID-19

complicated black lung disease

CONTACT: Rebecca Shelton, Appalachian Citizens’ Law Center, rshelton@aclc.org Willie Dodson, Appalachian Voices, willie@appvoices.org (NOTE: Several miners and their family members are available for interviews; images are also available; please contact Rebecca or Willie.) The president of the Black Lung Association

TAGS:

Advocates call on Congress for urgent action to help coal communities

abandoned mine portal

CONTACT: Thom Kay, Senior Legislative Representative, thom.kay@appvoices.org Cat McCue, Senior Communications Strategist, cat@appvoices.org Washington, D.C. – More than 100 organizations have added their names to a sign-on letter urging leaders in the House of Representatives to prioritize several bills that

TAGS:

Economic coalition identifies 19 old coal sites for cleanup and redevelopment in Central Appalachia

CONTACTS: Adam Wells, Appalachian Voices, adam@appvoices.org, 276-679-1691 Joey James, Downstream Strategies, jjames@downstreamstrategies.com, 304-322-4590 Rebecca Shelton, Appalachian Citizens’ Law Center, rshelton@aclc.org , 865-202-8688 Jacob Hannah, Coalfield Development, jhannah@coalfield-development.org, 304-614-8035 Marissa R. Lautzenheiser, Rural Action, marissa@ruralaction.org, 330-859-1050 New website launched as resource

TAGS:

A decision point for abandoned coal mines

An accurate inventory of abandoned coal mine lands is imperative for understanding the scope of the problem, where funding needs to be directed, and how much funding is necessary.

TAGS:

Over 100 Miners Heading to Washington to Advocate for Black Lung Benefits

Over 100 miners from across the Appalachian region are traveling to Washington D.C. this week to lobby lawmakers on a number of issues related to black lung disease, a fatal respiratory condition caused by continuous exposure to harmful dust and rock particles in and around coal mines.

TAGS:

Advocates for Appalachia in D.C. this week

Meet Laura Miller, Jacob Hannah and Darrell Coker — three Appalachians who traveled to D.C. this week to stand up for their communities and advocate for passage of the RECLAIM Act.

TAGS:

Appalachians testify in Congress to end mountaintop removal

Residents of coal-impacted communities went to Washington, D.C., to share how strip mines have affected their lives and to support a moratorium on destructive strip mining.

TAGS:

Good – and not-so-good – mine reclamation projects

Congress has funded “pilot” projects to repurpose old coal sites in Appalachia for three years; the results show a clear need for a strong RECLAIM Act grounded in community-driven goals and environmental cleanup.

TAGS:

Underground mine blowout causes flood, property damage in Virginia

Accumulated water bursting out of one of CM Mining, LLC’s operations in Hurley, VA, causes flooding and property damage in nearby neighborhood.

TAGS: