Blog Archives

Coal miners call on Congress for support amidst dual threats from black lung and COVID-19

complicated black lung disease

CONTACT: Rebecca Shelton, Appalachian Citizens’ Law Center, rshelton@aclc.org Willie Dodson, Appalachian Voices, willie@appvoices.org (NOTE: Several miners and their family members are available for interviews; images are also available; please contact Rebecca or Willie.) The president of the Black Lung Association

TAGS:

Sen. Manchin takes new view of mountaintop removal coal mining

Photo of mountaintop removal mining by Kent Mason

CONTACTS: Thom Kay, Senior Legislative Representative, thom.kay@appvoices.org, 828-262-1500 At a confirmation hearing today for the nominee to head the Office of Surface Mining and Reclamation Enforcement, Sen. Joe Manchin asked nominee Lanny Erdos to commit to revive a National Academies

TAGS:

Intro: The Legacies of Coal

abandoned mine portal

As Appalachia’s coal industry continues to decline, the scale of the damage it has cas becomes even more apparent.

TAGS:

Central Appalachia’s newest coal boss facing bankruptcies

Virginia businessman Tom Clarke’s foray into the coal industry initially looked promising for addressing environmental and community problems. Now, however, his business model is looking questionable.

TAGS:

Bankruptcies Roil Coal Industry and Worry Regulators

Major coal companies are filing for bankruptcy, causing concerns that they may not clean up contaminated lands or meet their obligations to workers.

TAGS:

Groups Sue Kentucky Mining Company

Contacts: Eric Chance, Appalachian Voices, 828-262-1500, eric@appvoices.org Ted Withrow, Kentuckians For The Commonwealth, 606-782-0998, tfwithrow@windstream.net Pat Banks, Kentucky Riverkeeper, 859-200-7442, kyriverkeeper@eku.edu Pete Harrison, Waterkeeper Alliance, 828-582-0422, pharrison@waterkeeper.org Adam Beitman, Sierra Club, 202-675-2385, adam.beitman@sierraclub.org Pikeville, Ky. – A coalition of citizens

TAGS: