Blog Archives

Stopping a massive fracked-gas pipeline takes a village

Some organize community meetings, some drive for hours to testify at hearings, some pray, some rally, some give detailed research to government agencies, some file lawsuits — and some occupy tree-sits in protest. All stand against the unneeded, dangerous fracked-gas Mountain Valley Pipeline.

TAGS:

Almost 8,000 call on federal agency to not allow the Mountain Valley Pipeline to cut through public forest land in Virginia

CONTACT: Russell Chisholm, Protect Our Water, Heritage, Rights Coalition, russell.powhr@gmail.com, 540-404-2727 Jessica Sims, Appalachian Voices, jessica@appvoices.org, 804-356-1228 With the close of a public comment period yesterday, the U.S. Forest Service has received more than 1,800 personal comments and approximately 6,000

TAGS:

Conservation groups applaud court’s suspension of Mountain Valley Pipeline construction

CONTACT: Cat McCue 434-293-6373 cat@appvoices.org The 4th Circuit Court of Appeals today sided with conservation groups and issued an immediate stay of Mountain Valley Pipeline’s stream and wetland crossing permits in southern West Virginia and Virginia. The groups, noting the

TAGS:

Groups take legal action to support North Carolina denial of Southgate pipeline

MVP Southgate protest sign

CONTACT: Ridge Graham, Appalachian Voices, (828) 994-7444, ridge@appvoices.org Perrin de Jong, Center for Biological Diversity, (828) 595-1862, perrin@biologicaldiversity.org Doug Jackson, Sierra Club, (202) 495-3045, doug.jackson@sierraclub.org RICHMOND, Va.— The Center for Biological Diversity, Appalachian Voices and Sierra Club filed a motion

TAGS:

Appalachian Voices denounces FERC’s greenlight for Mountain Valley Pipeline to resume

CONTACT: Cat McCue, 434-293-6373, cat@appvoices.org Jessica Sims, jessica@appvoices.org, 804-356-1228 In a snub to thousands of Appalachian landowners and others seeking to stop the unneeded, dangerous Mountain Valley Pipeline, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission late today voted 2-1 to extend its

TAGS:

Community and conservation groups condemn FERC’s review of proposed Mountain Valley Pipeline

Contact: Joe Lovett, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 304-520-2324, jlovett@appalmad.org Laurie Ardison, Protect Our Water, Heritage, Rights, 304-646-8339, ikeandash@yahoo.com Kirk Bowers, Sierra Club Virginia Chapter, 434-296-8673, kirk.bowers@sierraclub.org Kelly Trout, Chesapeake Climate Action Network, 240-396-2022, kelly@chesapeakeclimate.org Lara Mack, Appalachian Voices, 434-293-6373, lara@appvoices.org WASHINGTON,

TAGS:

Facebook Twitter Instagram Flickr Youtube