Blog Archives

Citizens groups applaud legislation on natural gas pipelines introduced by Southwest Virginia lawmakers

Three legislators from Southwest Virginia have introduced several bills in the 2018 General Assembly aimed at protecting water quality and landowner rights from the construction of fracked-gas pipelines, such as the proposed Mountain Valley and Atlantic Coast pipelines. The bills

TAGS:

Appalachian Voices files suit to stop fracked-gas Mountain Valley Pipeline

WASHINGTON, DC — Late yesterday, a coalition of environmental groups took legal action in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit to halt start of construction of the fracked-gas Mountain Valley Pipeline, challenging the “certificate of public convenience

TAGS:

Groups challenge Virginia’s unlawful approval of fracked-gas Mountain Valley Pipeline

Contact: Ben Luckett, 859.552.6979, bluckett@appalmad.org Derek Teaney, 304.793.9007, dteaney@appalmad.org Peter Anderson, 434-293-6373, peter@appvoices.org Doug Jackson, 202.495.3045 or doug.jackson@sierraclub.org Mike Tidwell, 240-460-5838, mtidwell@chesapeakeclimate.org RICHMOND, VA — A coalition of environmental groups today filed a petition for review with the United States

TAGS:

Monogamous and territorial – my common traits with woodpeckers

Living in Virginia, it’s easy to take the Blue Ridge Mountains for granted. But if you pay attention, there’s a mystery to them that many don’t appreciate — including the companies who want to build natural gas pipelines through them.

TAGS:

Groups blast FERC findings on Mountain Valley Pipeline for fracked gas

Contact information for those quoted provided below. A coalition of landowners and advocacy organizations today condemned the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) for disregarding the profound and long-lasting human and environmental trauma the proposed Mountain Valley Pipeline (MVP) would cause.

TAGS:

Water Quality Permits and the Pipelines

On May 24, Virginia’s state environmental regulatory agency conceded that information it had provided about how it would evaluate the potential water quality impact of two natural gas pipelines was inaccurate.

TAGS:

Retired Miners Face Possible Loss of Benefits

Retired coal miners face possible loss of benefits, a Duke University study reveals coal ash byproducts in area fish, The U.S. State Department approves the Keystone XL pipeline and other shorts from The Energy Report.

TAGS:

Atlantic Coast Pipeline backers head to North Carolina

While North Carolina is rightfully focused on the coal ash scandal, another environmental tug-of-war is strengthening in some of the state’s poorest areas. The Atlantic Coast Pipeline would cut 170 miles through eastern N.C. where a quarter to a third of people live in poverty. And this is precisely why these types of projects are placed in low-income communities: to reduce the chance of resistance.

TAGS:

Groups force strong pollution controls on Virginia gas plant

Contact: Evan Johns, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 434-738-186, ejohns@appalmad.org Hannah Wiegard, Appalachian Voices, 804-536-5598, hannah@appvoices.org Ben Weiner, Sierra Club Virginia Chapter, 804-225-9113 Ex. 1002, benjamin.weiner@sierraclub.org RICHMOND, Virginia – In response to extensive comments from citizens and conservation groups, the Virginia Department

TAGS:

Re-route of fracked gas pipeline threatens new areas of Va., West Va.

Contact: Ben Luckett, Staff Attorney, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 304-645-0125 Hannah Wiegard, Appalachian Voices, hannah@appvoices.org, 804-536-5598 Drew Gallagher, Chesapeake Climate Action Network, drew@chesapeakeclimate.org Kirk Bowers, Virginia Chapter of the Sierra Club, kirk.bowers@sierraclub.org Dominion Energy announced plans today to re-route the proposed

TAGS:

    Subscribe to Press Releases

    Sign up to receive real-time email notifications