Blog Archives

Groups take legal action to support North Carolina denial of Southgate pipeline

MVP Southgate protest sign

CONTACT: Ridge Graham, Appalachian Voices, (828) 994-7444, ridge@appvoices.org Perrin de Jong, Center for Biological Diversity, (828) 595-1862, perrin@biologicaldiversity.org Doug Jackson, Sierra Club, (202) 495-3045, doug.jackson@sierraclub.org RICHMOND, Va.— The Center for Biological Diversity, Appalachian Voices and Sierra Club filed a motion

TAGS:

Appalachian Voices denounces FERC’s greenlight for Mountain Valley Pipeline to resume

CONTACT: Cat McCue, 434-293-6373, cat@appvoices.org Jessica Sims, jessica@appvoices.org, 804-356-1228 In a snub to thousands of Appalachian landowners and others seeking to stop the unneeded, dangerous Mountain Valley Pipeline, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission late today voted 2-1 to extend its

TAGS:

43,000 demand FERC reject extended permit for Mountain Valley Pipeline

pipeline sections

CONTACT: Doug Jackson, 202-495-3045, doug.jackson@sierraclub.org Cat McCue, 434-293-6373, cat@appvoices.org Washington, D.C. – Water and climate advocacy organizations submitted comments and signatures from more than 43,000 people demanding the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) deny the fracked gas Mountain Valley Pipeline

TAGS:

3rd water-crossing permit suspended on Mountain Valley Pipeline

Pittsburgh, PA — At the request of a coalition of clean water advocates, the Pittsburgh District of the Army Corps of Engineers late Friday suspended a third permit that the fracked gas Mountain Valley Pipeline (MVP) must have to build

TAGS:

Clean water advocates ask court, Corps to halt Atlantic Coast Pipeline

RICHMOND, VA – The coalition of clean water advocates that forced a halt of stream crossing construction activities for the Mountain Valley Pipeline in West Virginia today formally requested the same for the Atlantic Coast Pipeline. The coalition took two

TAGS:

Feds must re-do environmental studies for fracked-gas pipelines

Contact: Cat McCue, Appalachian Voices, 434-293-6373, cat@appvoices.org Doug Jackson, Sierra Club, 202-495-3045, doug.jackson@sierraclub.org Ben Luckett, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 304-645-0125, bluckett@appalmad.org WASHINGTON, D.C. — Appalachian Voices and partner organizations have filed a request for a rehearing before the Federal Energy Regulatory

TAGS:

Groups blast FERC findings on Mountain Valley Pipeline for fracked gas

Contact information for those quoted provided below. A coalition of landowners and advocacy organizations today condemned the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) for disregarding the profound and long-lasting human and environmental trauma the proposed Mountain Valley Pipeline (MVP) would cause.

TAGS:

Groups challenge W.Va. certification for proposed Mountain Valley Pipeline

Contact: Gabby Brown, Sierra Club, gabby.brown@sierraclub.org Peter Anderson, Appalachian Voices, peter@appvoices.org, 434-293-6373 Richmond, VA — Environmental groups filed suit today challenging West Virginia’s certification for the proposed Mountain Valley Pipeline, which would transport fracked gas across West Virginia and Virginia.

TAGS: