Front Porch Blog

Appalachian Connection to Delay Scandal

There are many public servants, both Republican and Democrat, that make me proud to be an Appalachian citizen.

In NC-05, my district, Virginia Foxx has not been one of them.

She has made it a habit to follow special interest money, including that of disgraced former House Leader Tom Delay (R-TX-22), rather than to serve the will of her constituents.

Delay just announced his resignation from Congress. But he leaves a long list of Appalachian Congressional members to whom he gave generously over the years.

Foxx has taken $15000 from Delay’s PAC, and I have seen her- in person – refuse to simply answer qustions and concerns of her constituents.
I hope that if Delay (now saying he will retire) is found guilty, Virginia Foxx will give his money to charity.

Somehow I doubt it.

Foxx is not alone. Below is a list of politicians in the Appalachian Region who have taken money from Delay’s PAC…

Foxx is, by far, not the only Congressperson in the Appalachian region to accept $ from Delay. Here is a full list…


North Carolina
Robin Hayes (R-NC) $47,722
Virginia Foxx (R-NC) $15,000
Walter B. Jones Jr. (R-NC) $11,373
Patrick McHenry (R-NC) $10,000
Charles H. Taylor (R-NC) $6,130
Sue Myrick (R-NC) $3,520

J. Randy Forbes (R-VA) $30,000
Eric Cantor (R-VA) $15,000
Virgil H. Goode Jr. (R-VA) $5,000
Thelma Drake (R-VA) $5,000
Jo Ann Davis (R-VA) $5,000
Tom Davis (R-VA) $4,520

Phil Gingrey (R-GA) $25,000
Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA) $15,000
Charles W. Norwood (R-GA) $13,822
Tom Price (R-GA) $10,000
Nathan Deal (R-GA) $3,245
Jack Kingston (R-GA) $1,130

Mike Rogers (R-AL) $30,000
Jo Bonner (R-AL) $10,000
Terry Everett (R-AL) $6,020
Spencer Bachus (R-AL) $1,166

Anne M. Northup (R-KY) $42,701
Geoff Davis (R-KY) $30,000
Ron Lewis (R-KY) $2,144

South Carolina
Henry Brown (R-SC) $5,000
Gresham Barrett (R-SC) $10,000
Joe Wilson (R-SC) $10,000

West Virginia
Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)$48,500 Capito leads ALL recipients nationwide

Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) $5,000

Saxby Chambliss (R-GA) $19,282
Jim Bunning (R-KY) $10,006
George Allen (R-VA) $10,000
Richard Burr (R-NC) $9,981
Lindsey Graham (R-SC) $8,520
James W. DeMint (R-SC) $7,000

Bill Hayes sure wouldnt stand for it.





Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a Comment