Blog Archives

Southwest Va. groups join in with world’s largest grassroots solar event

CONTACTS: Austin Counts, Appalachian Voices, 276-679-1691, austin@appvoices.org Wise County, Va. – The Solar Workgroup of Southwest Virginia joins the nonprofit American Solar Energy Society (ASES) and hundreds of solar installers and grassroots organizations throughout America to showcase thousands of solar-powered

TAGS:

Community discussion to focus on ecotourism in Southwest Virginia

CONTACTS: Tyler Hughes New Economy Program Manager, Appalachian Voices 276-207-8686, tyler@appvoices.org The New Economy Network of Southwest Virginia and Appalachian Voices are hosting a community discussion on ecotourism in Pennington Gap on Tuesday, August 27. The meeting is free and

TAGS:

Advocates for Appalachia in D.C. this week

Meet Laura Miller, Jacob Hannah and Darrell Coker — three Appalachians who traveled to D.C. this week to stand up for their communities and advocate for passage of the RECLAIM Act.

TAGS:

RECLAIM Act back in Congress

The bill to expedite spending of $1 billion in coal-impacted communities to repurpose old mine sites for new economic projects has been reintroduced into Congress with bipartisan support.

TAGS:

Takeaways from the TVA quarterly meeting

Increased public participation but continued gaps in transparency marked TVA’s recent quarterly meeting, which included a vote to close two of the utility’s coal plants.

TAGS:

A roadmap to boosting solar in Southwest Virginia

Cover of the Solar Roadmap for Southwest Virginia

Last week, the Solar Workgroup of Southwest Virginia released an outline for bringing a just, sustainable energy economy to the coalfield region.

TAGS:

Going solar in the coalfields of Southwest Virginia

Cover of the Solar Roadmap for Southwest Virginia

CONTACT: Adam Wells, Appalachian Voices, New Economy Program Manager, 276-679-1691, adam@appvoices.org Matt Wasson, Appalachian Voices, Director of Programs, 828-262-1500, matt@appvoices.org Cat McCue, Director of Communications, 434-293-6373, cat@appvoices.org Wise County, Va. — A group of local leaders from far Southwest Virginia

TAGS:

Appalachians Look to Branch Out from Coal-Based Economy

Contact: Adam Wells, Appalachian Voices, (276) 679-1691, adam@appvoices.org Gabby Gillespie, The Alliance for Appalachia, (276) 220-5048, gabby.gillespie@sierraclub.org Eric Dixon, Appalachian Citizens Law Center, (865) 202-8688, eric@appalachianlawcenter.org Two dozen local government entities in the heart of Central Appalachia’s coalfields have passed

TAGS: