Blog Archives

Groups blast FERC findings on Mountain Valley Pipeline for fracked gas

Contact information for those quoted provided below. A coalition of landowners and advocacy organizations today condemned the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) for disregarding the profound and long-lasting human and environmental trauma the proposed Mountain Valley Pipeline (MVP) would cause.

TAGS:

Federal review of Atlantic Coast Pipeline fails people and the environment

Contacts: Lewis Freeman, Allegheny-Blue Ridge Alliance, 703-298-8107, lewfreeman@gmail.com Greg Buppert, Southern Environmental Law Center, 434-977-4090, gbuppert@selcva.org Ben Luckett, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 404-645-0125, bluckett@appalmad.org Peter Anderson, Appalachian Voices, 434-293-6373, peter@appvoices.org An analysis of environmental impacts for the proposed Atlantic Coast Pipeline

TAGS:

Public Pushback Against Appalachian Natural Gas Pipelines

Community members from across Appalachia are joining together to fight the construction of the Atlantic Coast and Mountain Valley Pipelines, but critics cite flaws with the ongoing environmental review process.

TAGS:

Why stop the Mountain Valley Pipeline?

A sign in eastern Montgomery County, Va., announces local opposition to the Mountain Valley Pipeline.

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission is taking public comments from citizens regarding the proposed Mountain Valley Pipeline, which would carry fracked gas through W.Va. and Va. It’s a important chance for citizens to voice their concerns on-the-record. Read some of the reasons why Virginia Campaign Coordinator Peter Anderson is speaking out against the pipeline.

TAGS:

Community and conservation groups condemn FERC’s review of proposed Mountain Valley Pipeline

Contact: Joe Lovett, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 304-520-2324, jlovett@appalmad.org Laurie Ardison, Protect Our Water, Heritage, Rights, 304-646-8339, ikeandash@yahoo.com Kirk Bowers, Sierra Club Virginia Chapter, 434-296-8673, kirk.bowers@sierraclub.org Kelly Trout, Chesapeake Climate Action Network, 240-396-2022, kelly@chesapeakeclimate.org Lara Mack, Appalachian Voices, 434-293-6373, lara@appvoices.org WASHINGTON,

TAGS:

Prayers not pipelines

prayerflag2

Jill Averitt lives in Central Virginia with her extended family on a patch of land where collectively they are raising seven children, lots of vegetables–and in the past year, a ruckus over Dominion’s plans to run a massive fracked gas pipeline right through that land. She created the “Prayers Not Pipelines” project as a powerful way to connect with her neighbors, and to protect her home and community.

TAGS:

30 Groups Demand Single FERC Study of Fracked-Gas Pipelines

Contacts: Joe Lovett, Appalachian Mountain Advocates, 304-645-9006, jlovett@appalmad.org Joanna Salidis, Friends of Nelson, 434-242-5859, josalidis@gmail.com Tammy Belinsky, Preserve Craig, 540-874-5798, tambel@hughes.net Kirk Bowers, Sierra Club, 434-296 8673, kirk.bowers@sierraclub.org Hannah Wiegard, Appalachian Voices, 434-293-6373, hannah@appvoices.org Monique Sullivan, Chesapeake Climate Action Network,

TAGS:

Alpha Pays $209 Million in Upper Big Branch Settlement

Alpha Natural Resources, the global coal company that purchased Massey Energy in January 2011, reached a settlement with victim’s families and the Mine Safety and Health Administration for $209 million in civil and criminal penalties for a mine explosion that

TAGS: